Leeds Anglican Diocese

The Anglican Diocese of Leeds is a diocese of the Church of England, in the Province of York. It is the largest diocese in England by area, comprising much of western Yorkshire: almost the whole of West Yorkshire, the western part of North Yorkshire, the town of Barnsley in South Yorkshire, and most of the parts of County Durham, Cumbria and Lancashire which lie within the historic boundaries of Yorkshire. It includes the cities of Leeds, Bradford, Wakefield and Ripon. It was created on 20 April 2014 following a review of the dioceses in Yorkshire and the dissolution of the dioceses of Bradford, Ripon and Leeds, and Wakefield.

It was previously known as the Diocese of West Yorkshire and the Dales (though its legal entity was the Diocese of Leeds). There is also a Roman Catholic Diocese of Leeds, founded in 1878, with the current Leeds Cathedral dating from 1904.

The diocese is led by the Anglican Bishop of Leeds (the Rt Revd Nick Baines) and has three cathedrals of equal status: Ripon, Wakefield, and Bradford. There are five episcopal areas within the diocese, each led by an area bishop: Leeds, Ripon, Wakefield, Bradford and Huddersfield.

Knaresborough is in the Ripon Episcopal area. The Rt Revd James Bell retired as Bishop of Ripon on 30th April 2016.

Find out more.